All posts by Kate

DISABILITY ARTS MEET UP!

About the event:

Are you an artist or cultural worker with a disability? Do you work with artists or cultural workers with disabilities? Or do you simply want to know more about working in this exciting field of contemporary art?
Then come along to the Disability Arts Meet Up, an informal get together where you can meet other people working in the field.

The next Meet Up will take place on April 9, 2019 from 6pm to 7:30pm at Sophiensaele. At 8pm the performance „Quest“ by choreographer Tamara Rettenmund will be shown which was developed during a Making A Difference residency. The entrance is free.

Accessibility:

This is an unfunded event and thus assistance such as sign language or other kinds of interpretation is not provided on this occasion. Assistants of all kinds are of course very welcome. The venue is step-free, provides access with an elevator and has a disabled accessible toilet. Food and drinks can be purchased from the bar. If you would like someone to meet you downstairs in the yard and help you to find the way, please email or message us in advance so that we can arrange this. The language of the event will be in both English and German and we can help with translations.

We look forward to seeing you at the Disability Arts Meet Up!


Where:

Address:
Sophiensaele
Sophienstraße 18
10178 Berlin

Public Transport: U-Bahn Weinmeisterstraße, S-Bahn Hackescher Markt, S-Bahn Oranienburger Straße

Telefon: 030 27 89 00-58
E-Mail: making-a-difference@sophiensaele.com

Berlinklusion at “Wie Findet Freiraum Stadt?” Event

We are delighted that we have been invited to present as part of Wie Findet Freiraum Stadt! Come and talk to us!

About the event:

What is the meaning of open space in the city – who benefits from it and who uses it? Together, barriers should be dismantled, projects and visions developed, diversity and participation promoted and networks and alliances formed.

With the format of Open Talks different cultural actors will share experiences and present their approaches to open up spaces for art and culture in an innovative way.

When and where:

26 October 2018
4-9pm

feldfünf – project rooms in the metropolis house, Fromet-and-Moses-Mendelssohn-Platz 7-8, 10969 Berlin

Registration for the workshops by mail to: info@feldfuenf.berlin

Accessibilty: 

Please contact feldfünf for all information regarding accessibity.

info@feldfuenf.berlin
www.feldfuenf.berlin

tel: 030 27 97 99 17

Förderfähig! Workshop

Empowerment workshop for artists and cultural workers with disabilities run together with Diversity.Arts.Culture.

About the workshop:

In this workshop we get an overview of funding and funding opportunities for Berlin artists. We discuss the particular difficulties faced by people with disabilities when applying for funding. How does an application process work? We go through an application step by step.

This workshop is aimed at disabled artists and cultural professionals who want to work professionally but need more information. It is intended to encourage artists to establish themselves on the regular art market. At the end of the workshop there is the opportunity to network and continue to exchange ideas.

Speakers: Imke Baumann (conveyor e.v.), Tobias Losekandt (culture support point)

Moderators: Jovana Komnenic and Dirk Sorge (Berlinklusion)

When and where:

25 October 2018
10-2pm
aquarium, Skalitzer Straße 6, 10999 Berlin

Accessibility:
Language The workshop will be held in German language. There is an interpretation in German Sign Language (DGS).
The workshop room in the aquarium is accessible at ground level and barrier-free. Wheelchair accessible toilets are available.
Empowerment workshop for disabled artists and artists

Disability Arts Meet Up!

Image description: in a room with a red glowing light, seven people in two groups chatting to each other with drinks in their hands. Some people are standing while another sits in a wheelchair.

About the Event:

Are you an artist or cultural worker with a disability? Do you work with artists or cultural workers with disabilities? Or do you simply want to know more about working in this exciting field of contemporary art?

Then come along to the Disability Arts Meet Up, an informal get together where you can meet other people working in the field.

About Berlinklusion:

Berlinklusion is an initiative founded by a group of artists, curators, arts educators, mediators and facilitators with and without disabilities who are making Berlin’s vibrant art scene more accessible for artists and their publics. We support individuals, museums, galleries, other arts organisations and communities through providing advice, running workshops and creative projects and raising awareness about inclusion and accessibility in the arts.

Accessibilty:

This is an unfunded event and thus assistance such as sign language or other kinds of interpretation is not provided on this occasion. Assistants of all kinds are of course very welcome. The venue is step-free and has an disabled accessible toilet. Food and drinks can be purchased from the bar. If you would like someone to meet you at the door and help you to find a seat, please email or message us in advance so that we can arrange this. The language of the event will be in both English and German and we can hep with translations.

We look forward to seeing you there!

When and where:
Thursday 18th October, 2018
7pm

cafe morgenrot
kastanienallee 85
10435 berlin
030.44317844

Nearest public transport stops:
M1 schwedter str.
U2 eberswalder str.
U8 rosenthaler platz

Berlinklusion is at Body-Check!

Kubinaut Logo

Berlinklusion is taking part in Body-Check, an event by Kubinaut about body and identity in cultural education.

Come along! All the important details are below:

Where and when?

On Thursday, 18 October 2018
from 1pm to 5pm
in the city villa Global
Otto-Wels-Ring 37, 12351 Berlin

About the event:

Kulturprojekte Berlin and the Landesvereinigung Kulturelle Jugendbildung Berlin invite you to the Kubinaut – Partnerbörse Kulturelle Bildung # 7.

This year, the Partnerbörse (symposium) is dedicated to the topic of “Body-Check – Body and Identity in Cultural Education.” From birth, we are divided into women / men, people with / without disabilities, people of color / white, etc. Such categories create exclusions and often lead to prejudices about the abilities and legitimacy of supposedly others, but how can these internalized incarnations be broken up and alternatives presented so that children and adolescents can choose their own identity and thus their social role? In which way is resistance to discrimination and dominating normativity possible? What experimental spaces can create cultural education for such physical self-awareness?

At the symposium, best practice projects from cultural education, pedagogy, art education, youth work and research present practice-oriented approaches to the questioning of body-related stereotypes as well as enabling methods for cultural education practice with children and adolescents.

In addition, there will be an opportunity to learn about funding opportunities, to exchange topics as well as to post offers and requests on the bulletin board.

For more details:

https://www.kubinaut.de/de/termine/kubinaut-partnerboerse-kulturelle-bildung-7/

The program is also available as  a PDF fileDieses Bild benötigt einen alternativen Text, aber das Feld ist leer. Gib einen alternativen Text ein oder markiere das Bild als dekorativ.:
https://www.kubinaut.de/media/events/einldung_partnerborse_7_final.pdf

Common Bond

Common Bond was an international collaboration project between myself, and photographers Rosita McKenzie (Edinburgh) and Jan Bölsche (Berlin). Common Bond followed on from the success of CAE’s previous project Through the Looking Glass, Dimly developed by myself, Rosita and Australian based photographer Andrew Follows, which saw Rosita McKenzie develop a body of work in response to Andrew’s work and encouraged a peer-mentoring relationship between the two artists during Andrew Follows Edinburgh residency. Where Through the Looking Glass saw Rosita take on the role of “host artist”, the Common Bond residency allowed Rosita to become the “visiting artist” and pursue a new peer-mentoring relationship with Berlin based photographer Jan Bölsche.

The initial project was developed in partnership over a year featuring a 2-week artist residency programme, a series of photo-shoot sessions in selected locations around the city; meetings and studio visits with Berlin based artists and photographers; a practical photography workshop led by Rosita and Jan for both sighted and non-sighted participants; and a public discussion group on the theme of normality, ableism and genetic engineering in September 2013.

Central to the residency was Rosita’s development of a new body of work in response to the concept of the “common bonds” between Britain and Germany. Rosita’s investigation of the city from an historical and cultural heritage perspective, interprets this visually rich city from her perspective as a blind person.

The residency enabled Rosita to forge new international connections with other artists and audiences and gave her an opportunity to help  people with disabilities participate within contemporary art despite geographic and language barriers. Building on from her previous projects such as the Sight Unseen group exhibition in California, the residency has strengthened links between blind photographers Berlin and in Scotland.

The project continued with Jan, Rosita and myself developing and delivering further Blind Photography Workshops in other cities, exhibitions and the establishment of an international network of blind photographers.

Photos and further information can be found here.

Masterplan Workshop at Neue Perspektiven gewinnen!

From 2013 – 2016 Jovanna, Dirk and I developed and co-organized Neue Perspektiven gewinnen (Gain New Perspectives) with Berlin based non-profit Förderband eV.

Neue Perspektiven gewinnen is about the “inclusive museum”. Inclusive museum in this sense means: the development of museums and their exhibitions so that all persons, whether they have a disability or not, can use them.

In 2009, the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities entered into force in Germany. Since then, the topic of inclusion has enjoyed great prominence in general as well as in the field of arts and culture. Against the backdrop of scarce budgets and human resources, however, museums find themselves often entering new territory. The result is a lack of access to arts and culture for people with disabilities, as well as a lack of communication within this sector about experiences and knowledge of the needs of people with disabilities. Supported by one of the few disability arts funders Aktion Mensch e.V., we were able to initiate and carry out a series of 25 museum-specific workshops of varying orientation and intensity in addition to a kick-off event and a closing conference.

Our goals were:

  • Sensitize museum employees to different needs
  • Learn more, playfully experiment and learn from each other
  • Network with stakeholders and strengthen each other
  • The practical learning of people with and without disabilities
  • Better anchor ​​inclusion within the museum
  • Inspire museum workers with other perceptual worlds and thus make their cultural offering more interesting

My role in Neue Perspectiven gewinnen was focused on contemporary art and inclusion. Together with Jovanna, I developed and led a multisensorial mediation and masterplan workshop for Berlinische Galerie employees from the fields of mediation, marketing, curation, exhibition design, technical design on 23.09. , 25.09. , 26.09.2015 and 11.02.2016.

This complex, multi-day workshop switched between theoretical approaches and practical exercises. The participants were also mixed: employees were joined by guests with mobility, visual and hearing impairment and guests with learning disabilities.

Photographs of the workshop courtesy of Neue Perspective gewinnen are below. You can find further details on the project on this page.

Alle Beiträge von Kate

Berlinklusion bei „Wie findet Freiraum Stadt?“ Veranstaltung

Wir freuen uns sehr das wir zur Wie Findet Freiraum Stadt eingeladen sind! Kommt vorbei und sprecht mit uns!

Über die Veranstaltung:

Was ist die Bedeutung von Freiraum in der Stadt – wer nutzt ihn und wem nutzt er? Gemeinsam sollen Hemmschwellen abgebaut, Projekte und Visionen entwickelt, Diversität und Partizipation gefördert und Netzwerke und Allianzen gebildet werden.

Der Kulturförderpunkt Berlin bietet Workshops zur Förderlandschaft in Berlin und zur konkreten Antragstellung an.

Im Anschluss wird euch im Rahmen von Open Talks der Raum geboten, gemeinsam mit AkteurInnen aus der Kunst- und Kulturszene zu diskutieren.

Wann und Wo:

26 Oktober 2018
16-21Uhr

feldfünf – Projekträume im Metropolenhaus, Fromet-und-Moses-Mendelssohn-Platz 7–8, 10969 Berlin

Anmeldung für die Workshops per Mail an: info@feldfuenf.berlin

Zugänglichkeit:

Bitte kontaktieren Sie feldfün für alle Informationen bezüglich der Zugänglichkeit.

info@feldfuenf.berlin
www.feldfuenf.berlin

Tel .: 030 27 97 99 17

Förderfähig! Workshop

Empowerment-Workshop für Kunst- und Kulturschaffende mit Behinderung zusammen mit Diversity.Arts.Culture

Über das Workshop:

In diesem Workshop verschaffen wir uns einen Überblick über Förderungs- und Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten für Berliner Künstler*innen. Wir diskutieren, vor welchen besonderen Schwierigkeiten Menschen mit Behinderung stehen, wenn sie sich für Förderungen bewerben. Wie funktioniert ein Bewerbungsverfahren? Wir gehen einen Antrag Schritt für Schritt durch.

Dieser Workshop richtet sich an Kunst- und Kulturschaffende mit Behinderung, die professionell arbeiten möchten, dafür aber mehr Informationen benötigen. Er soll Künstler*innen dazu ermutigen, sich auf dem regulären Kunstmarkt zu etablieren. Am Ende des Workshops gibt es die Möglichkeit, sich zu vernetzen und weiter auszutauschen.

Referent*innen: Imke Baumann (Förderband e.v.), Tobias Losekandt (Kulturförderpunkt)

Moderator*innen: Jovana Komnenic und Dirk Sorge (Berlinklusion)

Wann und Wo:

25 Oktober 2018
Uhrzeit 10:00 – 14:00 Uhr
Ort aquarium , Skalitzer Straße 6 , 10999 Berlin

Zugänglichkeit:
Sprache Der Workshop findet in deutscher Lautsprache statt. Es gibt eine Verdolmetschung in Deutsche Gebärdensprache (DGS).
Der Workshopraum im aquarium ist ebenerdig und barrierefrei zugänglich. Rollstuhlgerechte Toiletten sind vorhanden.

Disability Arts Meet Up!

Bildbeschreibung: In einem Raum mit einem rot leuchtenden Licht, sieben Personen in zwei Gruppen miteinander chatten mit Getränken in ihren Händen. Einige Leute stehen, während ein anderer im Rollstuhl sitzt.

Über die Veranstaltung:

Bist du Künstler*innen oder Kulturarbeiter*innen mit einer Behinderung? Arbeitest du mit Künstler*innen oder Kulturschaffenden mit Behinderungen? Oder möchtest du einfach mehr über das Arbeiten in diesem spannenden Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst erfahren?
Dann komm zum Disability Arts Meet Up, einem informellen Treffen, bei dem du andere Leute kennenlernen kannst, die auf diesem Gebiet arbeiten.

Über Berlinklusion:

Berlinklusion ist eine Initiative, die von einer Gruppe von Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Kunstpädagog*innen mit und ohne Behinderung gegründet wurde, um Berlins lebendige Kunstszene für Künstler*innen und ihre Öffentlichkeit zugänglicher zu machen. Wir unterstützen Einzelpersonen, Museen, Galerien, andere Kunstorganisationen und Communities durch Beratung, Durchführung von Workshops und kreativen Projekten und Sensibilisierung für Inklusion und Zugänglichkeit in der Kunst.

Zugänglichkeit:

Dies ist eine Veranstaltung ohne Finanzierung. Wir können leider keine Assistenz wie Gebärdensprache oder andere Arten der Verdolmetschung zur Verfügung gestellt. Assistent*innen aller Art sind natürlich herzlich willkommen! Der Veranstaltungsort ist stufenfrei und verfügt über eine rollstuhlgerechte Toilette. Speisen und Getränke können an der Bar auf eigene Kosten gekauft werden. Wenn du möchtest, dass sich jemand an der Tür trifft und dir hilft, einen Platz zu finden, sende uns bitte eine E-Mail oder eine Nachricht, damit wir dies organisieren können. Die Veranstaltung wird sowohl auf Englisch als auch auf Deutsch sein und wir können gern übersetzen.

Wir freuen uns auf dich!

Wann und Wo:
Donnerstag den 18. Oktober, 2018
19Uhr

cafe morgenrot
kastanienallee 85
10435 berlin
030.44317844

Halltestelle in der Nähe sind:
M1 schwedter str.
U2 eberswalder str.
U8 rosenthaler platz

Berlinklusion bei Body-Check!

Kubinaut Logo

Berlinklusion nimmt teil an Body-Check, eine Veranstaltung über Körper und Identität in der Kulturellen Bildung von Kubinaut.

Kommt vorbei! Alle die wichtige Details sind unten:

Wo und wann?

Am Donnerstag, 18. Oktober 2018
von 13.00 bis 17.00 Uhr
in der Stadtvilla Global
Otto-Wels-Ring 37, 12351 Berlin

Über die Veranstaltung:

Kulturprojekte Berlin und die Landesvereinigung Kulturelle Jugendbildung Berlin laden zur Kubinaut – Partnerbörse Kulturelle Bildung #7 ein.

In diesem Jahr widmet sich die Partnerbörse dem Thema „Body-Check – Körper und Identität in der Kulturellen Bildung. Bereits von Geburt an werden wir in Frau/Mann, Mensch mit/ohne Behinderung, Mensch of Color/weiß etc. unterteilt. Solche Kategorien schaffen Ausschlüsse und führen nicht selten zu Vorurteilen über die Fähigkeiten und Legitimität vermeintlich anderer. Doch wie lassen sich diese verinnerlichten Verkörperungen aufbrechen und Alternativen aufzeigen, damit Kinder und Jugendliche ihre Identität und somit auch gesellschaftliche Rolle selbstbestimmt wählen können? Wie kann Akzeptanz gegenüber Menschen, die körperlich und in ihrer Lebensweise von der “Norm” abweichen, erlernt werden? Auf welche Weise ist Widerstand gegenüber Diskriminierung und der dominierenden Normativität möglich? Welche Experimentierräume kann Kulturelle Bildung für ein solches körperliches Selbstbewusstsein schaffen?

Bei der Partnerbörse präsentieren Best Practice-Projekte aus der Kulturellen Bildung, Pädagogik, Kunstvermittlung, Jugendarbeit und Forschung praxisbezogene Ansätze zur Hinterfragung körperbezogener Stereotype sowie Befähigungsmethoden für die kulturelle Bildungspraxis mit Kindern und Jugendlichen.

Zusätzlich wird es Gelegenheit geben, sich über Fördermöglichkeiten zu informieren, zu eigenen Themen auszutauschen sowie auf dem Schwarzen Brett Projektangebote und -gesuche auszuhängen.

Für weitere Details:

https://www.kubinaut.de/de/termine/kubinaut-partnerboerse-kulturelle-bildung-7/

Das Programm ist auch als PDF-Datein verfügbar:
https://www.kubinaut.de/media/events/einldung_partnerborse_7_final.pdf

Common Bond

Common Bond war ein internationales Kooperationsprojekt zwischen mir und den Fotografen Rosita McKenzie (Edinburgh) und Jan Bölsche (Berlin). Common Bond folgte aus dem Erfolg des bisherigen Projekts von Contemporary Art Exchange Through the Looking Glass, Dimly von Rosita und dem australischen Fotografen Andrew Follows, der Rosita McKenzie als Reaktion auf die Arbeit von Andrew entstand, entwickelte er ein Peer-Mentoring-Verhältnis Zwischen den beiden Künstlern während Andrew Follows Edinburgh Residency. Wo die Rosita die Rolle des „Gastkünstlers“ übernahm, erlaubte die Common Bond Residency Rosita, der „Besuchskünstler“ zu werden und eine neue Peer-Mentoring-Beziehung mit dem Berliner Fotografen Jan Bölsche zu verfolgen.

Das erste Projekt wurde in Partnerschaft über ein Jahr mit einem 2-wöchigen Künstlerresidenz-Programm, eine Reihe von Foto-Shoot-Sessions an ausgewählten Orten rund um die Stadt entwickelt; Besprechungen und Studiobesuche mit Berliner Künstlern und Fotografen; Ein praktischer fotografischer Workshop unter der Leitung von Rosita und Jan für gesichtete und nicht sichtbare Teilnehmer; Und eine öffentliche Diskussionsgruppe zum Thema Normalität, Fakultät und Gentechnik im September 2013.

Zentral für die Residenz war Rositas Entwicklung eines neuen Werkes als Reaktion auf das Konzept der „gemeinsamen Bindungen“ zwischen Großbritannien und Deutschland. Rositas Untersuchung der Stadt aus historischer und kultureller Kulturperspektive, interpretiert diese visuell reiche Stadt aus ihrer Perspektive als Blinde.

Die Residenz ermöglichte es Rosita, neue internationale Verbindungen mit anderen Künstlern und Publikum zu knüpfen und gab ihnen die Möglichkeit, Menschen mit Behinderungen trotz der geographischen und sprachlichen Barrieren an der zeitgenössischen Kunst teilzunehmen. Aufbauend auf ihren bisherigen Projekten wie der Sight Unseen Gruppenausstellung in Kalifornien hat die Residenz die Verbindungen zwischen blinden Fotografen Berlin und Schottland verstärkt.

Das Projekt setzte sich mit Jan, Rosita fort und selbst entwickelte und lieferte weitere Blind Photography Workshops in anderen Städten, Ausstellungen und die Einrichtung eines internationalen Netzwerks von blinden Fotografen.

Fotos und weitere Infos sind hier.

Masterplan Workshop at Neue Perspektiven gewinnen!

Von 2013 – 2016 ich, Jovanna und Dirk hat mit Förderband e.V. Neue Perspektiven gewinnen erfunden und co-organisiert.

Beim Projekt „Neue Perspektiven gewinnen“ geht es um das Thema „inklusives Museum“. Inklusives Museum in diese Sinne bedeutet:
Das Gebäude und die Ausstellungen eines Museums sind so,
dass alle Personen sie gut nutzen können. Egal, ob diese Personen eine Behinderung hat oder nicht.

Im Jahr 2009 ist in Deutschland die Übereinkunft der Vereinten Nationen über die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderungen in Kraft getreten. Spätestens seitdem genießt das Thema Inklusion große Prominenz. Auch im Museum und Ausstellungswesen.
Vor dem Hintergrund knapper Budgets und Personallagen betreten Museen mit dem Thema jedoch vielfach Neuland. Oft existieren Berührungsängste, und es fehlt der Zugang zu Menschen mit Behinderungen ebenso wie Kommunikationserfahrungen und Wissen über spezielle Bedürfnisse.
Gefördert von Aktion Mensch e.V. konnten wir neben der Auftaktveranstaltung und der Schlusskonferenz eine Serie von 25 museumsfachlichen Workshops unterschiedlicher Ausrichtung und Intensität initiieren und durchführen.

Unsere Ziele waren:

  • Sensibilisieren für unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse
  • Fachlich weiterkommen, spielerisch experimentieren und voneinander lernen
  • das Netzwerk mit Betroffenen und untereinander stärken
  • praktisches Kennenlernen von Menschen mit und ohne Behinderungen befördern

Nicht nur der Gedanke der Inklusion sollte im Museum besser verankert werden, es ging auch darum, Museumsleute durch andere Wahrnehmungswelten zu inspirieren und Kulturangebote in Museen dadurch interessanter zu machen.

Meine Role in Neue Perspektiven gewinnen war an zeitgenössigne Kunst und Inklusion fokusiert. Ich habe zusammen mit Jovanna an eine Multisensoriale Vermittlung und Masterplan Workshop für Teilnehmerinnen aus den Bereichen Vermittlung, Marketing, Kuration, Ausstellungsdesign, technische Gestaltung des Berlinische Galeries am 23.09. , 25.09. , 26.09.2015 und am 11.02.2016 geleitet.

Ein komplexer mehrtägiger Workshop, der durch den Wechsel zwischen theoretischen bis hin zu wissenschaftlichen Inputs mit praktischen Übungsteilen bestimmt war. Ebenso gemischt waren auch die Teilnehmenden: MitarbeiterInnen aus Vermittlung und Kuration ergänzt durch Gäste mit Seh- und Hörbehinderung und Gäste mit Lernschwierigkeiten. Insbesondere im zweiten Workshopteil, der sich stärker dem Schwerpunkt der Ausstellungsgestaltung widmete, waren außerdem KollegInnen aus dem Design und der technischen Gestaltung dabei.

Fotos von Neue Perspektiven gewinnen sind unten. Weitere Details an diese Projekt finden Sie auf dieser Seite.