The Berlinklusion logo. Berlinklusion is a word play of Berlin link (or link) and inclusion. There is a tree that grows out of this word. It represents the existing institutions, associations, persons and structures that unfold in new and uncertain ways by dealing with inclusion and networking, represented graphically by a few branches on this tree which are drawn with perforated lines.

About

Berlinklusion
Network for Accessibility
in Arts and Culture

Our vision

To implement positive change in Berlin’s cultural sector by embracing inclusion and increasing accessibility for artists, arts-workers, participants and audiences with all (dis)abilities*.

We support individuals, museums, galleries, other arts organisations and comunities through knowledge-sharing, collaboration and raising awareness about inclusion and accessibility in the arts.

*Our definition of disability is broad. We follow the social model of disability – this means that we view disability as a social construct where barriers are imposed on the individual, rather than the individual being defined by their medical condition or impairment. However we also recognise and respect that disability is defined by the individual and their lived experience. When we talk about inclusion and accessibility, we want this for all peoples, however they may identify: as sensorially, physically or intellectually disabled or impaired, with learning difficulties or mental health conditions, differently abled, diverse, crippled, mad . . . 

How we work

We work with a selection of people from our pool of freelancers, along with existing organisations and associations who have a range of skills, knowledge and experience with disability, accessibility, inclusion and the arts. Each project is shaped to meet the specific needs of our clients, whatever their scale or goals. Inclusion lies at the heart of what we do: that means people with and without disabilities working together in a fair and equal way, and valuing the contribution disability brings to all areas of the arts.

Who we are

Berlinklusion is an initiative founded by a group of artists, curators, arts educators, mediators and facilitators with and without disabilities who want to make Berlin’s vibrant art scene more accessible to a wider range of people. We bring a range of experiences working with a variety of individuals and audiences in the arts, in Germany and abroad. 

KATE BREHME is an independent curator and arts educator based in Berlin. She holds a BA in Contemporary Art and an MA in Cultural Heritage Studies (both Deakin University Melbourne). She has worked in Australia, Scotland and Germany on a variety of projects, exhibitions and events and since 2008 runs Contemporary Art Exchange, a curatorial platform for international projects, exhibitions and events providing professional development opportunities for emerging and young artists. Her project and research themes include place and cultural identity, labour and work, globalisation, disability and socially engaged practices. Kate has worked in arts education for organisations such as The Fruitmarket Gallery, The National Galleries of Scotland and Strathclyde University.

Under the banner of Contemporary Art Exchange Kate curated ‘Through the Looking Glass Dimly’ (2012), an international collaboration project with two visually impaired artists which featured as part of the Edinburgh Art Festival. After relocating to Berlin Kate organised a British Council funded follow-up project ‘Common Bond’ (2013). Both projects explored the nature of accessibility in visual art and featured accessible exhibitions, events and workshops. From 2014-2016 she worked as project team member and moderator for Neue Perspektiven Gewinnen (http://www.neue-perspektiven-gewinnen.de/), a series of workshops in the field of inclusion in Berlin’s museums.Kate is currently a lecturer for the Master in Arts Education programme at the Piet Zwart Institute in Rotterdam and a DFG Funded Doctoral Fellow at the Center for Metropolitan Studies at Berlin’s Technical University where she explores the relationship between contemporary art production and access to urban space.

KIRSTIN BROUSSARD is a visual artist and arts educator who splits her time between New York City and Berlin. She holds a Masters Degree in Interdisciplinary Arts in Arts Education. Since 2004 she has worked as a consultant, lecturer and teaching artist at numerous museums including but not limited to; The Museum of Modern Art, The Jewish Museum and The Museum of Arts and Design. In her capacity as a Museum Educator for Community and Access Programs at MoMA, she has contributed to the design and implementation of internationally recognised and award winning programs such as Meet Me at MoMA, Create Ability and Prime Time. The exploration of multiple viewpoints through her work with special needs audiences such as children with autism, adults with Alzheimer’s, the blind and partially sighted- has a huge impact on both her approach to education and her work as a visual artist.

Jovana Komnenic portrait

JOVANA KOMNENIC is an artist and art educator living in Berlin. She holds an MA Degree in Painting (University of the Arts Belgrade) and Art in Context (University of the Arts Berlin). She is enrolled in a PhD program at the University of the Arts Berlin in the field of Aesthetic Theory. Since 2009 Jovana has been experimenting with formats and approaches to multiple perspectives and accessibility in  the arts and developing participatory programs in this field. Among the numerous institutions and groups she has collaborated with , are NGBK, The Berlin Biennale, Akademie der Künste, Berlinische Galerie and Machmit Museum für Kinder. In 2015 she worked on the conception and organization of the conference “Inklusion ist schön” at Staatliche Museen Berlin, which focused on artistic approaches to inclusive art education through talks and hands-on workshops. From 2014-2016 she worked as project team member and moderator for Neue Perspektiven Gewinnen (http://www.neue-perspektiven-gewinnen.de/), a series of workshops in the field of inclusion in Berlin’s museums.

DIRK SORGE works as artist and educator in Berlin. Leipzig and Chemnitz. He studied Visual Art at the University of the Arts Berlin (Meisterschüler/MFA) and Culture and Technology Studies (B.A.) and Philosophy (M.A.) at Technical University Berlin. He conducts workshops and guided tours focusing on inclusive practice for Staatliche Museen Berlin, Berlinische Galerie, The Berlin Biennale and other institutions. From 2014-2016 he worked as project team member and moderator for Neue Perspektiven Gewinnen (http://www.neue-perspektiven-gewinnen.de/), a series of workshops in the field of inclusion in Berlin’s museums. Dirk Sorge is a member of the Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired in Berlin and consults museums that plan to reduce barriers in their exhibitions. Currently he works as museum educator for the Industriemuseum Chemnitz.

Network for Accessibility in Arts and Culture

Das Berlinklusion Logo. Berlinklusion ist ein Wortspiel aus Berlin Link (oder Verbindung) und Inklusion, und es gibt einen Baum, der aus diesem Wort heraus wächst. Der stellt die existierenden Institutionen, Vereine, Personen und Strukturen dar, die sich durch Auseinandersetzung mit Inklusion und Vernetzung in neuen und ungewissen Weisen entfalten, grafisch dargestellt durch einige Äste an diesem Baum, die mit perforierte Linien gezeichnet sind.

Über Uns

Berlinklusion
Netzwerk für Zugänglichkeit in
Kunst und Kultur

Unsere Vision

Wir möchten Berlins Kulturlandschaft positiv verändern, indem wir Inklusion vorantreiben und die Zugänglichkeit für Künstler*innen, Kulturarbeiter*innen, Teilnehmer*innen und Publikum mit und ohne Behinderungen* verbessern.

Wir unterstützen Einzelpersonen, Museen, Galerien, andere Kunstinstitutionen und Gruppen durch Wissensaustausch, Kollaboration und, indem wir mehr Bewusstsein für Inklusion und Zugänglichkeit in der Kunst schaffen.

*Wir verwenden einen weiten Begriff von Behinderung und folgen dem sozialen Modell von Behinderung. Das heißt, anstatt eine Person durch ihren Gesundheitszustand oder eine Beeinträchtigung zu definieren, betrachten wir Behinderung als Resultat gesellschaftlicher Konstruktion, da Menschen durch Barrieren behindert werden. Wir erkennen an und respektieren, dass Behinderung von jeder Einzelperson und durch deren gelebte Erfahrungen definiert wird. Wenn wir von Inklusion und Zugänglichkeit sprechen, fordern wir das für alle Menschen, ganz gleich, als was sie sich identifizieren: Als sensorisch, körperlich oder kognitiv behindert oder beeinträchtigt, mit Lernschwierigkeiten, mit geistigen Gesundheitsproblemen, anders begabt, divers, ‚Krüppel‘, ‚irre‘ . . . 

Wie wir arbeiten

Wir arbeiten mit einem Pool von ausgewählten Freiberufler*innen zusammen sowie mit bestehenden Institutionen und Vereinen, die über Können, Wissen und Erfahrung in den Bereichen Behinderung, Zugänglichkeit, Inklusion und Kunst verfügen. Jedes Projekt wird an die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden angepasst, je nach Zielsetzung und Größe. Inklusion ist das Herzstück dessen, was wir tun. Das heißt, Menschen mit und ohne Behinderung arbeiten gleichberechtigt auf Augenhöhe miteinander. Wir betrachten Behinderung als wichtigen Beitrag für alle Bereiche der Kunst.

Wer wir sind

Berlinklusion ist eine Initiative und wurde gegründet von einer Gruppe von Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen, Kunstpädagog*innen, Vermittler*innen und Unterstützer*innen mit und ohne Behinderungen, die Berlins lebendige Kunstszene für ein breiteres Publikum zugänglicher machen wollen. Wir haben umfangreiche Erfahrungen in der Arbeit mit unterschiedlichsten Einzelpersonen und Kunstpublikum in Deutschland und im Ausland.

KATE BREHME ist freie Kuratorin und Kunstvermittlerin und lebt in Berlin. Sie hat einen B.A. in zeitgenössischer Kunst und einen M.A. in Cultural Heritage Studies / Kulturerbe-Forschung (beides Deakin University Melbourne). Sie hat in Australien, Schottland und Deutschland an einer Vielzahl von Projekten, Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen gearbeitet und leitet seit 2008 Contemporary Art Exchange, eine kuratorische Plattform für internationale Projekte, Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen, die professionelle Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten für aufstrebende und junge Künstler*innen bietet. Zu ihren Projekten und Forschungsthemen gehören Ort und kulturelle Identität, Arbeit und Beruf, Globalisierung, Behinderung sowie gesellschaftlich engagierte Praktiken. Kate hat als Kunstvermittlerin u.a. für The Fruitmarket Gallery, The National Galleries of Scotland und Strathclyde University gearbeitet.

Unter dem Banner von Contemporary Art Exchange hat Kate ‘Through the Looking Glass Dimly’ (2012) kuratiert, ein Kollaborationsprojekt mit zwei sehbehinderten Künstler*innen als Teil des Edinburgh Art Festival. Nach dem Umzug nach Berlin organisierte Kate das Nachfolgeprojekt ‘Common Bond’ (2013) finanziert vom British Council. Beide Projekte erforschten die Eigenarten von Zugänglichkeit in der bildenden Kunst und bestanden aus zugänglichen Ausstellungen, Veranstaltungen und Workshops. Von 2014 bis 2016 arbeitete sie als Mitglied im Projektteam und Moderatorin für Neue Perspektiven Gewinnen, eine Serie von Workshops zum Thema Inklusion in Berliner Museen. Zur Zeit ist Kate Dozentin für den Masterstudiengang Kunstvermittlung am Piet Zwart Institute in Rotterdam und Doktorandin am Center for Metropolitan Studies an der Technischen Universität Berlin mit einem DFG-Stipendium. In ihrer Dissertation erforscht sie das Verhältnis zwischen zeitgenössischer Kunstproduktion und Zugänglichkeit zum Stadtraum.

KIRSTIN BROUSSARD ist bildende Künstlerin und Kunstvermittlerin, die abwechselnd in New York und Berlin lebt und arbeitet. Sie hat einen Masterabschluss in Interdisciplinary Arts in Arts Education. Seit 2004 hat sie als Beraterin, Dozentin und Kunstpädagogin an zahlreichen Museen gearbeitet, u.a. im Museum of Modern Art, im Jewish Museum und im Museum of Arts and Design. Als Mitarbeiterin für das Community and Access Programm im MoMA hat sie bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung international anerkannter und preisgekrönter Programme mitgewirkt, darunter Meet Me at MoMA, Create Ability und Prime Time.
In der Arbeit mit Menschen mit besonderen Bedürfnissen wie Kindern mit Autismus, Erwachsenen mit Alzheimer sowie Blinden und Sehbehinderten erforscht sie unterschiedliche Sichtweisen. Dies hat sowohl ihren Ansatz in der Pädagogik als auch ihre Arbeit als bildende Künstlerin stark beeinflusst.

Jovana Komnenic portraitJOVANA KOMNENIC ist Künstlerin und Kunstvermittlerin und lebt in Berlin. Sie hat einen Masterabschluss in Malerei (University of the Arts Belgrade) und Kunst im Kontext (Universität der Künste Berlin) und ist dort als Doktorandin im Bereich Ästhetische Theorie eingeschrieben. Seit 2009 experimentiert Jovana mit Formaten und Ansätzen zu Perspektivenvielfalt und Zugänglichkeit in den Künsten und entwickelt partizipative Programme in diesem Bereich. Zu den zahlreichen Institutionen und Gruppen, mit denen sie zusammengearbeitet hat, gehören: NGBK, Berlin Biennale, Akademie der Künste, Berlinische Galerie und Machmit Museum für Kinder. Im Jahr 2015 hat sie an der Konzeption und Organisation der Tagung „Inklusion ist schön“ der Staatlichen Museen Berlin mitgearbeitet, bei der künstlerische Ansätze zu inklusiver Kunstvermittlung im Fokus standen und in Vorträgen und praktischen Workshops thematisiert wurden. Von 2014 bis 2016 arbeitete sie als Mitglied im Projektteam und Moderatorin für Neue Perspektiven Gewinnen, eine Serie von Workshops zum Thema Inklusion in Berliner Museen.

DIRK SORGE arbeitet als Künstler und Kulturvermittler in Berlin, Leipzig und Chemnitz. Er studierte Bildende Kunst an der Universität der Künste Berlin (Meisterschüler) und Kultur und Technik (B.A.) sowie Philosophie (M.A.) an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Er hat Workshops und Führungen mit dem Schwerpunkt inklusive Praxis für die Staatlichen Museen Berlin, die Berlinische Galerie, die Berlin Biennale und andere Institutionen durchgeführt. Von 2014 bis 2016 arbeitete er als Mitglied im Projektteam und Moderator für Neue Perspektiven Gewinnen, eine Serie von Workshops zum Thema Inklusion in Berliner Museen. Dirk Sorge ist Mitglied im Allgemeinen Blinden- und Sehbehindertenverein (ABSV) und berät Museen, die planen, die Barrieren in ihren Ausstellungen abzubauen. Zur Zeit arbeitet er als Museumspädagoge im Industriemuseum Chemnitz.

Netzwerk für Zugänglichkeit in Kunst und Kultur