Tag Archives: Contemporary Art Exchange

Common Bond

Common Bond was an international collaboration project between myself, and photographers Rosita McKenzie (Edinburgh) and Jan Bölsche (Berlin). Common Bond followed on from the success of CAE’s previous project Through the Looking Glass, Dimly developed by myself, Rosita and Australian based photographer Andrew Follows, which saw Rosita McKenzie develop a body of work in response to Andrew’s work and encouraged a peer-mentoring relationship between the two artists during Andrew Follows Edinburgh residency. Where Through the Looking Glass saw Rosita take on the role of “host artist”, the Common Bond residency allowed Rosita to become the “visiting artist” and pursue a new peer-mentoring relationship with Berlin based photographer Jan Bölsche.

The initial project was developed in partnership over a year featuring a 2-week artist residency programme, a series of photo-shoot sessions in selected locations around the city; meetings and studio visits with Berlin based artists and photographers; a practical photography workshop led by Rosita and Jan for both sighted and non-sighted participants; and a public discussion group on the theme of normality, ableism and genetic engineering in September 2013.

Central to the residency was Rosita’s development of a new body of work in response to the concept of the “common bonds” between Britain and Germany. Rosita’s investigation of the city from an historical and cultural heritage perspective, interprets this visually rich city from her perspective as a blind person.

The residency enabled Rosita to forge new international connections with other artists and audiences and gave her an opportunity to help  people with disabilities participate within contemporary art despite geographic and language barriers. Building on from her previous projects such as the Sight Unseen group exhibition in California, the residency has strengthened links between blind photographers Berlin and in Scotland.

The project continued with Jan, Rosita and myself developing and delivering further Blind Photography Workshops in other cities, exhibitions and the establishment of an international network of blind photographers.

Photos and further information can be found here.

Schlagwort-Archive: Contemporary Art Exchange

Common Bond

Common Bond war ein internationales Kooperationsprojekt zwischen mir und den Fotografen Rosita McKenzie (Edinburgh) und Jan Bölsche (Berlin). Common Bond folgte aus dem Erfolg des bisherigen Projekts von Contemporary Art Exchange Through the Looking Glass, Dimly von Rosita und dem australischen Fotografen Andrew Follows, der Rosita McKenzie als Reaktion auf die Arbeit von Andrew entstand, entwickelte er ein Peer-Mentoring-Verhältnis Zwischen den beiden Künstlern während Andrew Follows Edinburgh Residency. Wo die Rosita die Rolle des „Gastkünstlers“ übernahm, erlaubte die Common Bond Residency Rosita, der „Besuchskünstler“ zu werden und eine neue Peer-Mentoring-Beziehung mit dem Berliner Fotografen Jan Bölsche zu verfolgen.

Das erste Projekt wurde in Partnerschaft über ein Jahr mit einem 2-wöchigen Künstlerresidenz-Programm, eine Reihe von Foto-Shoot-Sessions an ausgewählten Orten rund um die Stadt entwickelt; Besprechungen und Studiobesuche mit Berliner Künstlern und Fotografen; Ein praktischer fotografischer Workshop unter der Leitung von Rosita und Jan für gesichtete und nicht sichtbare Teilnehmer; Und eine öffentliche Diskussionsgruppe zum Thema Normalität, Fakultät und Gentechnik im September 2013.

Zentral für die Residenz war Rositas Entwicklung eines neuen Werkes als Reaktion auf das Konzept der „gemeinsamen Bindungen“ zwischen Großbritannien und Deutschland. Rositas Untersuchung der Stadt aus historischer und kultureller Kulturperspektive, interpretiert diese visuell reiche Stadt aus ihrer Perspektive als Blinde.

Die Residenz ermöglichte es Rosita, neue internationale Verbindungen mit anderen Künstlern und Publikum zu knüpfen und gab ihnen die Möglichkeit, Menschen mit Behinderungen trotz der geographischen und sprachlichen Barrieren an der zeitgenössischen Kunst teilzunehmen. Aufbauend auf ihren bisherigen Projekten wie der Sight Unseen Gruppenausstellung in Kalifornien hat die Residenz die Verbindungen zwischen blinden Fotografen Berlin und Schottland verstärkt.

Das Projekt setzte sich mit Jan, Rosita fort und selbst entwickelte und lieferte weitere Blind Photography Workshops in anderen Städten, Ausstellungen und die Einrichtung eines internationalen Netzwerks von blinden Fotografen.

Fotos und weitere Infos sind hier.