Tag Archives: disability arts

DISABILITY ARTS MEET UP!

About the event:

Are you an artist or cultural worker with a disability? Do you work with artists or cultural workers with disabilities? Or do you simply want to know more about working in this exciting field of contemporary art?
Then come along to the Disability Arts Meet Up, an informal get together where you can meet other people working in the field.

The next Meet Up will take place on April 9, 2019 from 6pm to 7:30pm at Sophiensaele. At 8pm the performance „Quest“ by choreographer Tamara Rettenmund will be shown which was developed during a Making A Difference residency. The entrance is free.

Accessibility:

This is an unfunded event and thus assistance such as sign language or other kinds of interpretation is not provided on this occasion. Assistants of all kinds are of course very welcome. The venue is step-free, provides access with an elevator and has a disabled accessible toilet. Food and drinks can be purchased from the bar. If you would like someone to meet you downstairs in the yard and help you to find the way, please email or message us in advance so that we can arrange this. The language of the event will be in both English and German and we can help with translations.

We look forward to seeing you at the Disability Arts Meet Up!


Where:

Address:
Sophiensaele
Sophienstraße 18
10178 Berlin

Public Transport: U-Bahn Weinmeisterstraße, S-Bahn Hackescher Markt, S-Bahn Oranienburger Straße

Telefon: 030 27 89 00-58
E-Mail: making-a-difference@sophiensaele.com

Sessions on Empowerment

Workshops for art and cultural professionals, with Diversity.Arts.Culture and Berlinklusion

1° Workshop: Förderfähig
25.10.2018

In this workshop we provide an overview on funding and financial opportunities for Berlin artists. We discuss, above all, which is the opportunity to go for when you apply for funding. How does an application process work? Together we will go through a funding application guiding you step by step.
This workshop is intended for disabled and art workers with a disability who want to work but need more information. The aim is to encourage artists to insert themselves in the regular art market. At the end of the workshop there is the opportunity to network and exchange ideas.

Speakers: Imke Baumann (Förderband eV), Tobias Losekandt (Kulturförderpunkt)
Moderators: Jovana Komnenic and Dirk Sorge (Berlinklusion)

Conceptual  map with colorful papers

2° Workshop: Mein Ich und dein Bild von mir
1.12.2018

I work as an artist and have a disability. And now? Should I hide the disability? Should I explicitly point this out? Should I make it my trademark?
In this workshop, we discuss in a sheltered space the strategies that artists with disabilities develop to answer these questions. Together, we consider how important is disability when it comes to identity, how it is part of our self-expression, and how to deal with discrimination in cultural life. If you want, you can talk about your own experiences. After the workshop, there is the opportunity to participate in a tactile tour through the Berlinische Galerie.

Workshop leaders:
Speaker: Annton Beate Schmidt (artist), Monika Dorniak (artist)
Moderators: Kate Brehme and Dirk Sorge (Berlinklusion)

Person looking at a drawing on a glass surface
Diversity Arts Culture Logo

Disability Arts Meet Up!

Image description: in a room with a red glowing light, seven people in two groups chatting to each other with drinks in their hands. Some people are standing while another sits in a wheelchair.

About the Event:

Are you an artist or cultural worker with a disability? Do you work with artists or cultural workers with disabilities? Or do you simply want to know more about working in this exciting field of contemporary art?

Then come along to the Disability Arts Meet Up, an informal get together where you can meet other people working in the field.

About Berlinklusion:

Berlinklusion is an initiative founded by a group of artists, curators, arts educators, mediators and facilitators with and without disabilities who are making Berlin’s vibrant art scene more accessible for artists and their publics. We support individuals, museums, galleries, other arts organisations and communities through providing advice, running workshops and creative projects and raising awareness about inclusion and accessibility in the arts.

Accessibilty:

This is an unfunded event and thus assistance such as sign language or other kinds of interpretation is not provided on this occasion. Assistants of all kinds are of course very welcome. The venue is step-free and has an disabled accessible toilet. Food and drinks can be purchased from the bar. If you would like someone to meet you at the door and help you to find a seat, please email or message us in advance so that we can arrange this. The language of the event will be in both English and German and we can hep with translations.

We look forward to seeing you there!

When and where:
Thursday 18th October, 2018
7pm

cafe morgenrot
kastanienallee 85
10435 berlin
030.44317844

Nearest public transport stops:
M1 schwedter str.
U2 eberswalder str.
U8 rosenthaler platz

FILMPREMIERE: COMMON GROUND IN DIVERSITY

20.6.2018

tanzfähig and Berlinklusion organised the premiere of the film “Common Ground in Diversity” (DE 2017, min 94, camera and editing: Sushma U. Gütter) and Q&A with authors. Film documents the four days of the choreographic research of tanzfähig and the Berlin-based choreographer duo matanicola, which was conducted in September 2016 as part of the EU project “Moving Beyond Inclusion”.

Description
This film is a unique document that accompanies at close range the artistic process between the choreographer duo matanicola and a diverse group of dancers with different ages, physicalities, backgrounds, dance experience, and disabilities. Impressively the film illustrates how, over the course of their four day choreographic research, the concept of ​​movement is being passed from the minds of the choreographers into the dancers’ bodies and how it is coming to life in them. It is touching to see how day by day the dancers are getting more immersed into the choreographic ideas, by learning to trust the process, are able to expose more of themselves, and so move beyond their own expectations and imaginations. The film captures the very beginning of a creative dance process and demonstrates that there are no better bodies, or worse bodies, there are just bodies. Furthermore, through the act of dancing, the film speaks of learning and of the unfolding emotional journey.

Watch the trailer hier.

Schlagwort-Archive: disability arts

DISABILITY ARTS MEET UP!

Über die Veranstaltung:

Bist du Künstler*in oder Kulturarbeiter*in mit einer Behinderung? Arbeitest du mit Künstler*innen oder Kulturschaffenden mit Behinderungen? Oder möchtest du einfach mehr über das Arbeiten in diesem spannenden Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst erfahren?

Dann komm zum Disability Arts Meet Up, einem informellen Treffen, bei dem du andere Leute kennenlernen kannst, die auf diesem Gebiet arbeiten. Das nächste Treffen findet am 9. April 2019 von 18:00 bis 19:30 Uhr in den Sophiensaelen statt. Um 20:00 Uhr gibt es dort anschließend das Stück „Quest“ der Choreographin Tamara Rettenmund zu sehen, entwickelt in einer Residenz von Making A Difference. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Zugänglichkeit:

Dies ist eine Veranstaltung ohne Finanzierung. Wir können leider keine Assistenz wie Gebärdensprache oder andere Arten der Verdolmetschung zur Verfügung stellen. Assistent*innen aller Art sind natürlich herzlich willkommen! Der Veranstaltungsort ist stufenlos über einen Aufzug erreichbar und verfügt über eine rollstuhlgerechte Toilette. Speisen und Getränke können an der Bar auf eigene Kosten gekauft werden. Wenn du möchtest, dass sich jemand mit dir im Hof trifft und dir hilft den Weg zu finden, sende uns bitte eine Nachricht, damit wir dies organisieren können. Die Veranstaltung wird sowohl auf Englisch als auch auf Deutsch sein und wir können gern übersetzen.

Wir freuen uns auf dich!

Wo:

Adresse:
Sophiensaele
Sophienstraße 18
10178 Berlin

Haltestellen in der Nähe: U-Bahn Weinmeisterstraße, S-Bahn Hackescher Markt, S-Bahn Oranienburger Straße

Telefon: 030 27 89 00-58
E-Mail: making-a-difference@sophiensaele.com

Aus der Reihe von Empowerment

Workshops für Kunst- und Kulturschaffende mit Behinderung von Diversity.Arts.Culture und Berlinklusion

1° Workshop: Förderfähig
25.10.2018

In diesem Workshop verschaffen wir uns einen Überblick über Förderungs- und Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten für Berliner Künstler*innen. Wir diskutieren, vor welchen besonderen Schwierigkeiten Menschen mit Behinderung stehen, wenn sie sich für Förderungen bewerben. Wie funktioniert ein Bewerbungsverfahren? Wir gehen einen Antrag Schritt für Schritt durch.
Dieser Workshop richtet sich an Kunst- und Kulturschaffende mit Behinderung, die professionell arbeiten möchten, dafür aber mehr Informationen benötigen. Er soll Künstler*innen dazu ermutigen, sich auf dem regulären Kunstmarkt zu etablieren. Am Ende des Workshops gibt es die Möglichkeit, sich zu vernetzen und weiter auszutauschen.
Referent*innen: Imke Baumann (Förderband e.v.), Tobias Losekandt (Kulturförderpunkt)
Moderator*innen: Jovana Komnenic und Dirk Sorge (Berlinklusion)


Konzeptionelle Karte mit bunten Papieren

2° Workshop: Mein Ich und dein Bild von mir
1.12.2018

Ich arbeite als Künstler*in und habe eine Behinderung. Und jetzt? Soll ich die Behinderung verstecken? Soll ich explizit darauf hinweisen? Soll ich sie zu meinem Markenzeichen machen?
In diesem Workshop sprechen wir in einem geschützten Raum darüber, welche Strategien Künstler*innen mit Behinderung entwickeln, um diese Fragen zu beantworten. Gemeinsam überlegen wir, wie wichtig für uns eine Behinderung für die Identität ist, inwiefern sie zu unserer Selbstdarstellung gehört und wie man mit Diskriminierung im Kulturbetrieb umgehen kann. Wer möchte, kann über eigene Erfahrungen berichten.
Im Anschluss an den Workshop gibt es die Möglichkeit, an einer Tastführung durch die Berlinische Galerie teilzunehmen.

Workshopleitung:
Referent*innen: Annton Beate Schmidt (Künstlerin), Monika Dorniak (Künstlerin)
Moderator*innen: Kate Brehme und Dirk Sorge (Berlinklusion)

Person, die eine Zeichnung auf einer Glasoberfläche betrachtet
Diversity Arts Culture Logo

Disability Arts Meet Up!

Bildbeschreibung: In einem Raum mit einem rot leuchtenden Licht, sieben Personen in zwei Gruppen miteinander chatten mit Getränken in ihren Händen. Einige Leute stehen, während ein anderer im Rollstuhl sitzt.

Über die Veranstaltung:

Bist du Künstler*innen oder Kulturarbeiter*innen mit einer Behinderung? Arbeitest du mit Künstler*innen oder Kulturschaffenden mit Behinderungen? Oder möchtest du einfach mehr über das Arbeiten in diesem spannenden Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst erfahren?
Dann komm zum Disability Arts Meet Up, einem informellen Treffen, bei dem du andere Leute kennenlernen kannst, die auf diesem Gebiet arbeiten.

Über Berlinklusion:

Berlinklusion ist eine Initiative, die von einer Gruppe von Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Kunstpädagog*innen mit und ohne Behinderung gegründet wurde, um Berlins lebendige Kunstszene für Künstler*innen und ihre Öffentlichkeit zugänglicher zu machen. Wir unterstützen Einzelpersonen, Museen, Galerien, andere Kunstorganisationen und Communities durch Beratung, Durchführung von Workshops und kreativen Projekten und Sensibilisierung für Inklusion und Zugänglichkeit in der Kunst.

Zugänglichkeit:

Dies ist eine Veranstaltung ohne Finanzierung. Wir können leider keine Assistenz wie Gebärdensprache oder andere Arten der Verdolmetschung zur Verfügung gestellt. Assistent*innen aller Art sind natürlich herzlich willkommen! Der Veranstaltungsort ist stufenfrei und verfügt über eine rollstuhlgerechte Toilette. Speisen und Getränke können an der Bar auf eigene Kosten gekauft werden. Wenn du möchtest, dass sich jemand an der Tür trifft und dir hilft, einen Platz zu finden, sende uns bitte eine E-Mail oder eine Nachricht, damit wir dies organisieren können. Die Veranstaltung wird sowohl auf Englisch als auch auf Deutsch sein und wir können gern übersetzen.

Wir freuen uns auf dich!

Wann und Wo:
Donnerstag den 18. Oktober, 2018
19Uhr

cafe morgenrot
kastanienallee 85
10435 berlin
030.44317844

Halltestelle in der Nähe sind:
M1 schwedter str.
U2 eberswalder str.
U8 rosenthaler platz

Filmpremiere: Common ground in diversity

20.6.2018

tanzfähig und Berlinklusion organisierten Premiere des Filmes „Common Ground in Diversity“ (DE 2017, 94. min, Kamera und Schnitt: Sushma U. Gütter. Der Film dokumentiert die vier choreografischen Forschungstage von tanzfähig und dem Berliner Choreographen-Duo matanicola, die im September 2016 im Rahmen des EU-Projekts „Moving Beyond Inclusion“ durchführkonnten. Nähere Angaben zum Film siehe unten.
Nach der Vorführung gab es ein Gespräch mit den Autor*innen.

Filmbeschreibung
Der Film ist ein ungewöhnliches Dokument: In großer Nähe begleitet er das Choreographen-Duo matanicola und eine Gruppe von Tänzerinnen und Tänzern, die durch Alter, Herkunft, tänzerische Vorerfahrung und Behinderung in ihrer Körperlichkeit überaus verschieden sind. Er veranschaulicht eindrucksvoll, wie im Verlauf der vier Tage ihrer gemeinsamen choreographischen Forschung die Bewegungsidee von den Köpfen der Choreographen in die Körper der Tänzer wandert und wie sie dort lebendig wird. Es ist berührend zu sehen, wie die Tänzer sich von Tag zu Tag mehr auf die Vorstellungen der Choreographen einlassen, sich im Vertrauen auf sie zunehmend verletzbar machen und in einer für sie nicht vorstellbaren Art und Weise über ihre Grenzen hinausgehen. Der Film zeigt den ersten Beginn eines kreativ-tänzerischen Prozesses und belegt die mögliche Gleichwertigkeit körperlicher Verschiedenheit im Tanz. Darüber hinaus erzählt er am Beispiel des Tanzens vom Lernen im allgemeinen und den damit verbundenen Gefühlen, der Neugier, dem Zweifel, der Angst und dem Glück.

Trailer: https://vimeo.com/200248639